GENERAL CURRICULUM VITAE

Education | Employment and fellowships | Scientific work | Hobbies | Home and family | Plans for the future

I was born on October 2, 1970 in Hořice, Czech Republic. I spent my childhood in Nová Paka, a relatively small town situated in a colorful countryside near the Giant Mountains. Between 1989 and 1999 I studied in Prague. Since 2000 I have been living again in Nová Paka.

Education

In 1977-1985 I attended the 1st elementary school in Nová Paka. Between 1985 and 1989 I studied at the secondary grammar school in Nová Paka. The secondary grammar school was much more demanding than the elementary school. At the elementary school, and mainly at the secondary grammar school, I frequently participated in Mathematics and Physics Olympiads. In 1989 I managed to get into the national round of the Mathematics Olympiad, where, however, I did not succeed. I was more successful in physics – in 1989 I took the second place in the national round and in the same year I represented the former Czechoslovakia on the International Physics Olympiad in Warsaw, where I ended as a successful participant.
In 1989 I was admitted to studies at the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Charles University in Prague. In the third year of my studies I decided on the specialization theoretical physics. Education took place at the Department of Theoretical Physics, headed by Professor Jiří Bičák. Quantum theory and general relativity theory were among the most important subjects. In 1993 I passed a general state exam in the English language at the State Language School in Prague. I graduated from the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics with honors in 1994. My diploma thesis was written under the supervision of Dr. Zdeněk Chvoj from the Institute of Physics, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. My thesis’ topic was a theoretical description of diffusion on metal surfaces; a part of this work was later used in a paper published in Surface Science. I could have continued in my graduate studies at the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics in 1994, but I carefully considered my future job opportunities and decided for a graduate study of economics at CERGE (Center for Economic Research and Graduate Education), Charles University in Prague. I accomplished this study in 1999 by a dissertation defense. My dissertation was supervised by Dr. Michal Kejak. The topic of my dissertation concerned neoclassical growth models with capital mobility.

Employment and fellowships

Between 1997 and 2002 I was a junior researcher (later senior researcher) at the Economics Institute (EI), Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. Beside this work at EI I taught macroeconomics at CERGE. In 1998 I spent 4 months as an intern at the Harvard Institute for International Development (HIID), Cambridge, MA, United States. During my stay in the United States I attended selected lectures and seminars at Harvard University and had the opportunity to see many economic stars. In 2001-2002 I was a Jean Monnet Fellow at the European University Institute in Florence, Italy for 6 months. Since 2002 I have been working as an assistant professor at the Faculty of Informatics and Management, University of Hradec Králové. I teach mainly macroeconomics and microeconomics; I also teach foreign students microeconomics.

The address of my employer

Scientific work

In my research activities I mainly engage in the problems of economic growth – the importance of human capital for growth, the relationship between growth and money, models with adjustment costs, exogenous and endogenous growth models, and models with technological diffusion. My research also concerns net external assets, capital flows, and the development of transition economies. My best papers in economics were published in leading journals, such as the American Economic Review and the Journal of Economic Dynamics and Control.The publication in the American Economic Review is of fantastic value for me and I had to struggle a lot to have it. This is the top world journal in the field of economics. In the framework of my Global Development Network grant, financed by the CERGE-EI Foundation in 2003, I constructed a database of rough estimates of net external assets for U.S. states in 1977-2001. This database is presented as shareware on these pages. At present I am a partner in a research grant awarded by the Grant Agency of the Czech Republic; I study some aspects of economic growth and capital flows. A more detailed information about my scientific work can be found in the Academic CV.

Hobbies

I play chess – I am a master candidate. In the 1990s I played a second chessboard in the 2nd Czech League in Lomnice nad Popelkou. Now I am playing a fourth chessboard in Nová Paka in the Regional Competition, which is two levels below the 2nd Czech League. From time to time I play blitz chess tournaments.

One of my other hobbies are investments in securities on the stock market. Czech shares have grown rapidly in recent years; now (February 2006) I consider them relatively expensive. I also like listening to music – both classical and popular. At home have a collection of CDs. I collect stamps. I am interested in solving SUDOKU. One of my other hobbies is cross-country skiing.

Home and family

I am single and would like to dedicate my life to science. I live in a family house in Nová Paka with my mother Věra. At home I have very good conditions for scientific work – three computers with appropriate software, library, etc.

My home address

Plans for the future

In the medium- or long-term horizon, I would like to habilitate myself as an associate professor. I also try to publish my further papers. As a rule, publication processes are demanding; for this reason I present some of my outputs also on these pages. My papers are available from the Academic CV.

Optimal resolution 1024x768 or higher. Made by Ondřej Kašpar - last update 05.05.2015